OSTA 2017 Award Winners

1 05 2017

john osta award (2)Congratulations to the OSTA Award Winners for 2016-2017

School Orchestra Teacher of the Year – John Riegel, Hilliard City Schools

Studio Teacher of the Year – Steve Wedell, Columbus, OH

Young Teacher of the Year – Chris Japikse, Mansfield Schools




Join us during the OMEA Conference!

2 02 2017

OSTA is proud to host the annual reading session, annual general meeting and reception during the OMEA Professional Conference in Cleveland.

Date: Thursday, February 2
Time: 7:45-9:30 PM
Location: CC26ABC

10th Biennial OSTA Chamber Music Competition

27 01 2017

Thank you to everyone who contributed to making the competition a success.  All the performers who participated were outstanding. The judges were very inspired by the performance level of the groups. Of course the expertise of our judges – Sujean Kim, William Manley, Kevin Boden and Nat Chaitkin of 4-Way String Quartet – made the event worthwhile and meaningful for the participating performers. A big thank you to the Otterbein University students who allowed the event to run smoothly and on time. Bravi to all!

Winning Ensembles

Junior Division

Honorable Mention

DAJJ Quartet      Daniel Tai, violin; Anna Linder, violin; Julian Tugaoen, viola; Jackson Tomsic, violoncello


Junior Division

Second Prize

Decorus Trio       Daniel Woo, violin; Anna Macintosh, cello; Leon Durrenberger, piano


Junior Division

First Prize

Geneva String Quartet   Daniel Wu, violin; Kelly Gembara, violin; Elizabeth Macintosh, viola; Isaiah Wu, violoncello

Senior Division

Second Prize

Canorus Piano Trio            Youjin Na, violin; Chang H. Lee, cello; Sanghie Lee, piano


Senior Division

First Prize

Callisto Quartet                                    Paul Aguilar, violin; Rachel Stenzel, violin; Eva Kennedy, viola; Hannah Moses, violoncello


OSTA Fall/Winter Newsletter 2016

16 12 2016

newsletterNEWS! NEWS!


Awards Info included — Deadline December 30th!

Click here for the OSTA Fall-Winter Newsletter

OSTA 10th Biennial Chamber Music Competition

18 11 2016


Ohio String Teachers Association
10th Biennial
Chamber Music Competition

Otterbein University Riley Auditorium
Sunday, January 22, 2017
Apprentice and Jr Division 9:00 AM – 12:30 PM, Sr Division 1:00-2:00pm

Cash Prizes!!

Applications due January 10, 2o17 (after Jan. 10 a $10 late fee will apply)

Click HERE to download the information/application packet

OSTA Summer Reading Session

18 07 2016

OSTA will be hosting a summer music reading session on August 3rd at 10 AM at Stantons sheet music. If you would like to attend, please click on the e-vite below to RSVP. We hope to see you there!

Winter Newsletter!

15 02 2016



Click to download the OSTA Winter Newsletter 2016

Check out our OSTA Winter Newsletter featuring:

-Recap of our annual Reading Session/Meeting/Awards Ceremony at the OMEA Conference in Cincinnati.

-OSTA members presenting at the ASTA National Conference March 3-5 in Tampa

Mini-Grant Application — due April 30th 2016

-Harp Talk

-Save the Date to Energize — dates to connect with colleagues


Using the iPad to Organize and Energize Your Orchestra Classroom, presented by Erin Broadhurst, Hilliard City School District, Thursday, 9:45-10:45 a.m.

Secrets from the Lab: Reimagining the Instrumental Studio Room, presented by Mark Rudoff, The Ohio State University. Thursday, 11:00-12:00 p.m.

Zen and the Art of Motivation: Shifting the Focus from the Product to the Process and Empowering Students for Success, presented by Juliet White-Smith, The Ohio State University, Thursday, 12:15-1:15 p.m.

National Orchestra Festival Performances—Northern Cincinnati Youth Senior Orchestra, directed by Marva Rasmussen. Thursday, 5:00 p.m.|

What is a String Project and Why You Should Want One in Your Community and at Your University, presented by Amy Gillingham, Northern Kentucky University. Saturday, 8:15-9:15 a.m.

Keep Calm and Don’t Throw the Baton: Practical Strategies for Suc-cessful Classroom Management for Elementary, Middle and High School, presented by Julia Ellis, Thomas Worthington High School. Saturday, 11:30-12:30 p.m.