Chamber Music Competition Winners 2020

4 03 2020

Chamber Music Competition

Congratulations to all the participants in the 13th Annual OSTA Chamber Music Competition. This year;s event was held on January 19, 2020 at Otterbein University. Nine ensembles participated. Our guest judges this year were Dr. Richard Lopez from the piano faculty of Otterbein University, Ms. Beth Uhimchuk, violinist with Cincinnati’s 4-Way String Quartet, and Mr. Thomas Wood violin professor from the College of Wooster.

Congratulations to the winning ensembles.

Junior Division Honorable Mention

Mars String Quartet: Blake Collins & Jack Demos, violins; Cedrick McCafferty, viola; Danielle Hall, violoncello

Junior Division Second Prize

Torro String Quartet: Elizabeth Martin & Marissa Tayal, violins; Gabrielle Cassell-Ramirez, viola; Joshua Richards-Jarvis, violoncello

Junior Division First Prize

Marquis String Quartet: Cecilia Martin & Kenneth Becthel, violins; Jacob Liu, viola; Eric Spain, violoncello

Senior Division First Prize

DAJJ Quartet: Anna Linder & Mathias Koo, violins; Julian Tugaoen, viola; Kate Fornshell, violoncello


Congratulations to the 2019-2020 OSTA Award Winners

4 03 2020

Congratulations to the 2019-2020 recipients of OSTA awards of recognition.

Administrator of the Year          Ann Schloss, Elyria City School District

Studio Teacher of the Year        Elizabeth Council-Phelan, Corryville Suzuki Project

New Teacher of the Year           Kathleen Schnerer, Perrysburg Schools

Collegiate Teacher of the Year   Mr. Robert Vernon, Cleveland Institute of Music

School Teacher of the Year        Gretchen Zunic, Upper Arlington Schools